A dirty little corner of the world

Two men from Chechnya have told Reuters they were detained by police and subjected to torture and beatings because they were gay.

Seeing his rings and bracelets, the policemen asked if he was “a faggot” and beat him severely, the man said in an interview.

“Then they … forced me to tie a cable to my little toe and to my little finger. I was forced to do it myself, to attach the wires. And then they started using electric shocks,” he said.

The accounts that the two men gave could not be independently verified by Reuters. They fit in, however, with a pattern of persecution described by other sources.

Nikita Safronov, a Moscow-based LGBT activist, said almost 100 people from Chechnya had already got in touch via an LGBT-network hotline, and that more than 40 of them had been “evacuated”. Some had already left Russia, he added.

http://www.reuters.com/article/us-russia-chechnya-lgbt-idUSKBN1951YJ?il=0

