Five a day the Belfast way

17085

Julian Simmons | UTV | 17085

The Belfast Telegraph has been speaking to long time Northern Ireland television personality Julian Simmons about being gay.

He remembers one occasion when he was the victim of a homophobic attack in Belfast.

“On one particular day I went down Bedford Street to cross at the back of City Hall into Donegall Place and I was standing at the traffic lights and a red courier van comes along and as it came along a window went down and this fella shouted out ‘Ye big fruit ye’ and spat. As he spat me the wind caught it and the spit landed on a woman six feet down the road, and of course everyone was looking, and I said ‘I’m so sorry about that’.”

Nobody, anywhere, should ever be subjected to homophobia. Not even people who work on television.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/utvs-julian-on-antigay-abuse-being-spat-at-in-street-and-why-his-search-for-mr-right-is-on-hold-35694230.html

