The not so secret teacher

The Guardian has a “secret teacher” section. One of their contributors tells the story of coming out.

I told my new head of department that I was thinking about revealing my sexuality at school. Her only concern was that some members of the team might offend me by making jokes – though with the aim of making me feel part of the team. I then broached my intentions with the headteacher. He’s old-school, in a good way, traditionalist but totally living in the real world. He didn’t bat an eyelid and told me to get on with it.

Then the teacher wondered how to manage the event with pupils, and what their reaction was going to be.

An opportunity came when I took on a Y11 tutor group as a maternity cover. In our first session, one of the students asked straight out if I was gay. I answered with an emphatic “Yes”. I waited for the booing or the pretending-to-be-sick noises, but none came. A group of girls wanted to know if I was single (I’d recently broken up with someone) and whether I’d have a civil ceremony (yes, if I met the right guy) but otherwise it was a non-event. I do think my honesty served to make them trust me quickly – vital in a pastoral role – but my sexuality was ultimately quite boring.

Being out at work means you can just get on with things without it following you around. Eventually everybody forgets, because you have been accepted for what you are.

https://www.theguardian.com/teacher-network/2016/oct/29/secret-teacher-school-gay-tell-pupils

